Costas Synolakis


«As an alumnus and a parent, it is an  honor to know that I can now contribute from my role as Athens College President to further developing our historic School. I consider it a privilege to offer my services to this unique educational foundation which has shaped generations of students, myself included». 



Academician Costas Emmanuel Synolakis '75 graduated from Athens College in 1975. He went on to earn professional degrees from the California Institute of Technology (Caltech): a B.Sc. in Engineering and Applied Science in 1978, an M.Sc. in Civil Engineering in 1979, and a Ph.D. in Civil Engineering in 1986. In 2016 he was elected a regular member of the Academy of Athens and is currently Secretary of the Division of Natural Sciences.

In 1985 he was appointed Professor of Civil, Environmental and Aerospace Engineering at the University of Southern California (U.S.C.) Viterbi School of Engineering where, in 1996, he founded the USC Tsunami Center.  Following his appointment as Professor of Natural Hazards and Environmental Hydraulics at the Technical University of Crete and election by the National Research and Technology Council, he served as President of the Hellenic Centre for Marine Research. In 2019 he was elected Chairman of the newly established Special Scientific Committee on Climate Change in Greece, where he serves pro bono. He is also a member of the Board of Directors of the Hellenic Space Center. In July 2020, he assumed the Office of President of Athens College.

His broad research interests are reflected in the variety of topics on which he has written. He has authored a large number of publications, studies, and articles in scientific journals and has conducted dozens of field missions around the world. Among the numerous academic accolades and other distinctions he has received both in Greece and abroad is the Presidential Young Investigator Award bestowed upon him in 1989 by U.S. President George Bush and the prestigious 2019 International Coastal Engineering Award bestowed by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). In 2020 he received the Hamaguchi Award bestowed upon individuals or organizations that have made significant scientific or pragmatic contributions to the enhancement of coastal resilience against tsunami, storm surge and other coastal disasters, thus raising people’s awareness of disaster resilience.  He is an internationally renowned pioneer in the field of tsunami research and other natural hazards.

Honors & Awards

1981-1983 Scholarship by the not-for-profit “Alexandros Onassis” Foundation

1989 Presidential Young Investigator Award by George Bush

2002 County of Los Angeles Award for Outstanding Contributions to Emergency Preparedness

2014 Sergei Soloviev Medal on Natural Hazards by the European Geophysical Union

2015 Mofatt-Nichol Award in Coastal Engineering by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)

2016 Regular Member of the Academy of Athens

2019 International Coastal Engineering Award by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)

2020 Hamaguchi Award by the International Promotion Committee for Tsunami/Coastal Disaster Resilience Technology

Athens College Former Presidents


F. Stroud Read 1925-1927 (Headmaster)
Henry B. Dewing 1927-1930
Homer W. Davis 1930-1932 (Acting Director) 1932-1960
Charles M. Rice 1960-1964
Homer W. Davis 1964-1965 (Acting President)
James H. Beaverson  1965-1970
Edward W. Glassmeyer  1970-1973
W. Lee Pierson   1973-1979
John Summerskill    1979-1985
Walter McCann       1985-1993
Stephen Kurtz        1993-1994  (Interim President)
Patricia L. Poteat  1994-1998
Stephen Kurtz1998-1999 (Interim President)
Dionysios Skiotis1999-2003
David W. Rupp2005-2010
Spiro N. Pollalis2010-2017
Richard L. Jackson2017-2020